Dance is the hidden language of the soul.  ~Martha Graham

I have 4 wonderfully beautiful children.  They are still developing into their own personalities, their own lives, but they each have something awesome to offer the world.  They have made me a better person, a more tolerant human, and have filled me with love so full I want to share it with everyone.  I am extremely fortunate to have them in my life and cherish my time with them.

I wish I could say that everything is all hunky dory all the time – that we spend our days running through fields of daisy’s, making cookies, and laughing in the sun.  Although we have done that (admittedly I was in the lead as we ran through the field of flowers in my insane attempt to outrun the bees) it isn’t the entire make-up of our lives.

3 of my 4 children have significant speech delays ranging from articulation disorders to Apraxia.  Speech Therapists are a way of life for my children, as is personal triumphs over the accomplishment of saying “zipper” or *house*.  I am often in mother bear mode as I strive to make certain my children grow up feeling confident and successful.  I will not let a little thing like a severe speech delay stop my child from being fulfilled in life.

My tap and jazz teacher, who also happens to be a wonderful choreographer, shared the following video with me.  She has taught my daughter, the one with apraxia, tap for the past few years.  My oldest son will begin tap classes with her this week, and although he is the only child without any language disorders – he lives with it on a daily basis.  This video moved me in a way words cannot describe.  But, when you think about it… that’s the point.  Language isn’t just about speech.  It isn’t just about the things we say or the words we write.  We communicate in so many different ways.  This simple dance has given me the motivation and encouragement to keep on doing what I am doing.  I will continue making sure my children are heard – even if it means showing them a different way to express themselves.

