I have been sick.  I have posted about it, I have tweeted about it, I have put it on Facebook.  My friends are probably sick and tired of hearing how sick and tired I am.  Last night I finally dragged myself to the clinic to discover that yes, indeed, I am sick.  Apparently I have no less than 3 infections coursing through my body, as well as a possible 4th.  Even the nurse didn’t want to be in the same room with me.  I am now on heavy duty antibiotics, other meds to easy the pain and suffering I am experiencing, and waiting for the test results to determine if they should be treating the 4th infection.

Do you know what bugs me the most about all of this?  That I have not had the energy or the inclination to work out, let alone take advantage of this lovely weather.  I also know, from previous bouts with illness, that I will have to physically force myself to get into the groove again.  I know that my energy won’t bounce back until I push myself.  It is here I have the dilemma.  At what point should I begin pushing?  Obviously I want to put it off until tomorrow, we just established that my energy is low.  I read somewhere that I need to learn how to judge my energy and if I am at 50% of normal, then I should do a workout that is 50% less.  That’s a great idea, one I admittedly have yet to try.  I am the type of person who has to work out in order to stay in shape.  It doesn’t matter how little I eat, if there is no exercise involved then I don’t look good.  I am not maniacal about fitness, but I do have to make it an important part of my life.  When I get sick, it throws me off because my schedule is shot, and I just don’t have the energy to even attempt to keep up.  I then beat myself up because there is a part of me that feels like I should just get off my butt and go out there, but the tired and worn out part says there is no way.

"Country Road" by Delilah Smith

During this two week break from dance I had every intention of getting out on my bike every day.  I had visions of rolling corn fields, cool morning rides, and the smell of freshly cut hay.  I had even searched for new routes to take, hoping to explore more of my area on my road bike and enjoying the scenery.  It’s horrible, but I have no desire to do any of it yet.  I am hoping to wake up one of these mornings refreshed and ready to tackle the day.  I need to get moving, for this blob I am turning into will just look like a lumbering hippo on the first day of dance.

So, with luck, sleep, and the wonders of modern medicine we can only hope that tomorrow, indeed, will be another day.

