I had quite the shock today.  It was a busy day, as far as my life goes – which is nearly always hectic.  I had many places to go, people to see – the usual.  I was running late nearly the entire day, which is something I absolutely hate.  I could not for the life of me get caught up.

At some point mid-afternoon my sister started texting and calling me, wondering what I was up to, if I was going to call her when I got home.  I was going to, really I was, but everything just took too long, my phone was dying, and I knew I not only had dinner to prep but a meeting to attend.  I finally got my phone charged enough to call my sister back, because I had several texts from her stating that a perishable item had been delivered and she was worried it was going to get ruined in the heat.  I was assuring her I would check for said package, when I turned toward home and exclaimed “There is someone in my driveway – and they have balloons?!?!”

It turns out that it was my sister and her two boys, who traveled over 400 miles to come up for a few days just to spend time with me and my family.  She will probably never know how much I needed to see her, how much it means to me to have her come up here.  It’s a curious thing, really…. this family bond.  You have no choice but to be a part of each others life, at least in some way, shape or form.  As you grow older, you can choose to walk away, sometimes you really should walk away, or you find that this person that was forced upon you has become your best friend.  I am deeply indebted to my sister who has made my week special, and I hope she knows she is always welcome… even when my house is so messy I could have died from embarrassment!

Tomorrow we will give into idleness and enjoy a day together!

To My Sister

by William Wordsworth

It is the first mild day of March:
Each minute sweeter than before
The redbreast sings from the tall larch
That stands beside our door.

There is a blessing in the air,
Which seems a sense of joy to yield
To the bare trees, and mountains bare,
And grass in the green field.

My sister! (’tis a wish of mine)
Now that our morning meal is done,
Make haste, your morning task resign;
Come forth and feel the sun.

Edward will come with you, — and, pray,
Put on with speed your woodland dress;
And bring no book: for this one day
We ‘ll give to idleness.

No joyless forms shall regulate
Our living calendar:
We from to-day, my Friend, will date
The opening of the year.

Love, now an universal birth,
From heart to heart is stealing,
From earth to man, from man to earth:
–It is the hour of feeling.

One moment now may give us more
Than years of toiling reason:
Our minds shall drink at every pore
The spirit of the season.

Some silent laws our hearts will make,
Which they shall long obey:
We for the year to come may take
Our temper from to-day.

And from the blessed power that rolls
About, below, above,
We ‘ll frame the measure of our souls:
They shall be tuned to love.

Then come, my Sister! come, I pray,
With speed put on your woodland dress;
And bring no book: for this one day
We ‘ll give to idleness.

