There comes a point where we evaluate the goals we have created and realize that we are either falling short, or we are meeting our goals.  Have you ever noticed the terms don’t cover exceeding our goals very often?  Sure that happens sometimes in the business world, but what about personal goals that we set?

I spent some time tonight looking at the goals I have set for myself over the summer.  I am not meeting the original goals regarding my studies into writing, however if you count the works of fiction I have been mindlessly reading, I have exceeded my goals by 7 books.  I am reading more than I had intended, just not the type of books I was targeting.

I had planned on attaining a certain physique by the end of summer.  I know I’m not going to make it.  However, I am in better shape than anticipated – I can cycle 40 miles with ease and I can keep up with my classmates in an advanced ballet class (given… many of them have far better flexibility than I).  Although I am not meeting the goal I had set, I am feeling pretty good about myself.

I was really hoping that I would have my house whipped into shape so that by the time school started I would have the children’s rooms organized and garage sales galore.  Sadly that isn’t the case, nor do I think it will be even by Christmas.  However, I have spent some quality time with my children, enjoyed my friends, danced in the heat, cycled in the rain, and laughed until I cried.  Funny enough, I don’t mind not meeting that goal.

So at what point do personal goals become an end to a means?  Why is it that we are often far more likely to fudge and cave on our personal goals, but not on business or economic?  Is it purely the monetary aspect of it that makes us more diligent?  Or is it because we all feel that we need a little wiggle room in our lives, so why not allow it to happen with personal issues?

I think for me, this evaluation of where I am, where I thought I would be, and where I want to go is important.  However, I don’t think it is necessary for me to beat myself up for not meeting the goals I had set.  Life has happened in the interim, after all.  I didn’t just throw everything to the wayside to fly to some remote island so I can get away from it all.  I allowed life to flow in and around me, enjoying most of it, wishing some of it would go away and mainly flowing with the tide.

Starting tomorrow morning I will get back on my bike (because today was a rest day for me so I kept it tidy in its place in the garage), I will revisit the books on writing I have ready to read, and I will spend at least 15 minutes tackling the clutter in the messiest room (thank you Flylady!).  Beyond that, who knows what the day will hold – but at least I’m refocused again for the moment.

