Time.  The final frontier.

I need to learn to manage it, along with my money.  I am constantly letting it trickle through my fingers, spilling away to the wind.  I allow others to rule my time, take up my time, waste my time, and have been known to kill time with friends.  Quotes and sayings about time abound, and yet most people don’t use their time wisely.  I have a running list of tasks I would like to accomplish (mainly in my head, because if I actually write it down then I might be committed) but if given the chance to while away a few hours shooting the bull with a friend, I will jump at the opportunity.   I do take my friendships seriously!  If, though, it gives me an excuse to procrastinate… well.. then…. there you go.

I don’t want to be one of those people who are stressed over life in general.  I could be described as lackadaisical, but I think it has more to do with my mindset that life is too short to spend it being unhappy.  If you find something or someone who makes you smile, they deserve a bit of you in return.  Selfish though it may be, I strive to give attention to those around me that make me feel good.  I will do the same for activities that nourish my body and my soul.  Is it really a waste of time then, if you take the opportunity to nurture yourself and relationships?  My house is a mess, my yard looks pitiful, but I am relatively happy with life.  My children are cheerful, wonderful little people who make me swell up with pride.  I can’t tell you how many times I have had people compliment me on their behavior.  I wish I could take credit, but they are their own selves and have developed well.

We all have people who pass through our lives that touch it in a meaningful manner.  I am grateful for those that have been there for me.  For any of you who choose to comment on my blog, for those who are part of my life in different forums, for anyone who has touched my life – it has made it all worthwhile.   Maybe that is the key… it isn’t that time is getting away from me, it is that I’m using my time to be fulfilled.  That isn’t all bad, is it?

