I was singularly uninspired today – I sat down on several different occasions to write, only to be thwarted at every turn; I spent way too much time mulling over current events, or letting history affect me;  I read several different blogs to ascertain ideas, but nothing would stick; I picked up the book “On Writing Well” to continue my studies.  The first paragraph of chapter 8 stated: “You learn to write by writing.  It’s a truism, but what makes it a truism, is that it’s true.  The only way to learn to write is to force yourself to produce a certain number of words on a regular basis.”

So here I am, writing.  I was told a story recently of a guy who rewrote an entire classic, just so he could get a feel for what it was like to write a book.  I have spent way too much time in my life copying material into briefs and legal materials to want to even attempt this (as several sad, depressing, dark years of my life I was a legal secretary – but that’s another story).   I am here writing at this moment to perfect my skill, even if it isn’t in the genre I want to ultimately be in.  I am studying all types of writing, not because I don’t know what I want to write – but because I am a researcher at heart, and I enjoy the process.

In Chapter 8 – Unity, the book goes on: “All writing is ultimately a question of solving a problem.  It may be a problem of where to obtain the facts or how to organize the material.  It may be a problem of approach or attitude, tone or style.  Whatever it is, it has to be confronted and solved.  Sometimes you will despair of finding the right solution – or any solution.”

In this particular case, it was the problem of what to write about in the first place.  I worry of boring the reader if I just continue to write about the books that I read, but then again there are people who make a good living giving book reviews.  I have a purpose in life, it is to write my book.  I have a children’s book written and in the final edit stages before it goes to my illustrator (my sister-in-law, Jamaica Gremore, who is an amazing artist).   This doesn’t feel like my calling though.  This is more a beginning of the process.  I enjoyed completing this children’s book, as it came from a discussion with my own children – but it isn’t real.  Maybe after the illustrations are drawn, prepping it for publication it will gain substance… but for now it is just a dream.

I feel like I completed my task of writing something today, but now it is time for bed.  I can rest easy that I accomplished a task I had set out for myself and although I may cringe at this in the morning, it makes me feel satisfied tonight.

