A few months ago I experienced an event that basically indicated I had hit rock bottom.  My life was out of control, I was struggling to deal with my grief, I was disgusted with myself physically – in truth I was overwhelmed.  I do believe I wallowed in my misery for a little while, but in truth I did what I had to do.  I stood back up, checked myself for lasting damages and moved forward.  I’m still healing, however, for that doesn’t happen overnight.   I’ve worked hard, I have a new outlook, and my future is finally looking bright again.

The problem is… the clutter.  In the past 5 years, my mother-in-law and both my parents have died.  Our house is crammed from top to bottom with 3 entire household’s full of stuff.  We need to have a massive garage sale, but until now the emotions were so difficult to overcome and we also have to take into account our siblings and their feelings when it comes to everything.  Its bogging us down, though.  We can’t move in any direction without tripping over something or running into boxes.  It is like we are perpetually moving.  I am a pretty horrible housekeeper on a good day, having to dust and sweep around this clutter is nearly impossible for my poor brain to grasp.

I have made it a personal mission to better my life though, meaning lots of changes are going on.  Now that my hamstring is healing, I can dive back into the sports I enjoy.  I feel better about myself physically already.  I am taking steps to deal with the emotional roller coaster of grief, enabling me to function normally again.  I have made some other personal choices that are impacting not just me, but my family, which creates a more positive environment.

Nothing that is can pause or stay;
The moon will wax, the moon will wane,
The mist and cloud will turn to rain,
The rain to mist and cloud again,
Tomorrow be today.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

 

I must make an attempt to go through all these materials we have gathered and thin them out so we are not inundated with all the additional emotions that are tagging along for the ride.  I feel after examining our finances, my personal life, my diet and exercise, this is the final frontier I must tackle to create a happy home and move forward.  Cleaning house and culling the mountain of unnecessary paraphernalia is my next step.  Party at my house when it is all done!

