I love to read through quotes.  It is like looking into snippets of people’s thoughts.  Sometimes I get irritated though, because I read something that is so creative and witty that I really wish I had thought of it myself.  I seek out the quotes that make me think – that stick with me for the entire day.  The above quote is something that anyone who reads the internet should keep in mind.  People can write about anything!  I have found quotes that were attributed to “unknown” only to go to another site and find them linked to a very famous author.  It’s a sad state of affairs, but I think anyone who relies totally on the internet for research needs to be careful.

The problem is, even books can be suspect.  So how does one make sure their research figures are correct?  Or, more to the point what is the best way for me to make sure I am getting the best information?  I’ve read from several authors now that the best way to get information is to actually go and speak with a professional.  Someone who is trained in the subject you wish to learn about.   I, personally, learn better this way.  I really enjoy speaking with someone who is passionate about what they do.  It gets me excited and eager to know more.  It goes down to one of the first rules I was ever taught about writing – write about something you know about.

I am avid reader, I love to converse with people and I get bored enough that I like to try new things.  This seems great on the surface, but I have been accused on many different occasions of being a bit like a ninja.  I will gladly tell you that I am hardly an expert in anything, but I have dabbled in a lot of little things.  I truly don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.   No, I am not in a witness protection program, nor am I a special agent.  I find it rather difficult to live the life I currently lead, let alone a dual existence.  So what do I ultimately end up writing about?  I have over a dozen story lines muddying up my brain, but I haven’t sat down to write any of them.  I fear beginning the process and not have the correct data.  Isn’t that sad?

I think I am easily distracted, and that is probably my main problem.  I have more thoughts on the subject, but I look out my window and see it is a glorious day, I need more coffee, and the house needs cleaning… oh wait.. what were we talking about?

