I am horrible at goal setting.  I have rather loose dreams that I bandy about – mulling over in my head until I let them trickle away from my thoughts like the wind.  However, in all my research with regard to becoming a successful author/novelist/writer/blogger, one must set goals and strive to meet them on a regular basis.  Insert big sigh here.  I guess I have always seen myself as more of a free spirit – able to leap buildings, make school lunches, and be on time for appointments with aplomb.   Okay, so I have never really leaped over anything (that isn’t entirely true, I have done leaps in ballet…   Oh!  There was that time I jumped over 5 people in judo class, but that doesn’t count).  I do make a mean school lunch (I even cut their sandwiches into cute shapes).   As for appointments…. well, lets just say that 90% of the time I am on-time and we will leave it at that.

I recently did a search on Amazon for books regarding goals.   There are a whooping 4,526 paperbacks, 1,426 hardcovers, 1,474 kindle editions, and 65 Audible Audio editions available.  That doesn’t include the html, pdf or audio versions either – which apparently totals to around 2,500 more.   It is rather encouraging to know that I am not the only one who struggles with this.  It also turns into a rather daunting task.    Apparently there isn’t just one right way with which to go about this, and I certainly don’t have the time to sit down to read everything available.  So what is a girl to do?   Google gave me over 11 million hits.   I’ll start checking them out and get back to you sometime next year.

Seriously though, this is a very real and difficult task to master.  I decided instead of looking for myself I would look to the people who I consider the experts, i.e., the people who are writing things that I want to read.  Those that I admire or enjoy.  I might even pester a friend or two as to their ideas on the subject.   Dan Pearce, who writes the über popular blog “Single Dad Laughing” recommends the book “Goals!” by Brian Tracy.   My Dad always swore by the Stephen Covey system of setting goals.   I know that Zig Ziglar has written something on the subject.  To be honest though, I couldn’t tell you the similarities or differences between any of these systems.   I think the time is upon us to settle with a system for setting goals and run with it – even if it is only for a short period of time (Goal #1: find a system and stick with it for one month).  Are you with me?  Good!  Lets do this then.  Time to set some goals.   Let’s Go!

